Top

San Francisco Beacon Centers

Centers

For twenty years, Beacon Centers have revitalized communities and empowered youth by transforming school sites into hubs that connect the community and expand learning beyond school hours and academics. Today, eight Beacon Centers serve 12,000 San Francisco youth and their families and serve as a model for community schools in the Bay Area and nationally.

Beacon Centers strengthen the connection between schools, students, and families and close the gap between school services (and hours) and community needs. Through strong partnerships, more resources are available and services are better coordinated to achieve positive outcomes for our youth, families and communities.

Beyond supplementing the school day, Beacon Center activities nurture the skills necessary to be successful in life and school – problem solving, critical thinking, personal motivation, and confidence. Beacon Centers are a place where youth feel safe and supported, somewhere to turn to when things get tough at school, at home or with their friends. They ignite a passionate sense of possibility that inspires youth to take ownership of their future.

Families are welcome at Beacon Centers. Siblings, parents, and guardians who participate with the students experience their own learning and build a social support network.

You can find contact info and details for each Beacon Center on the top menu under ‘Centers.’

Beacon Director Contact List

GRADE LEVEL

BEACON COMMUNITY SCHOOL

BEACON DIRECTOR

BEACON DIRECTOR EMAIL

Elementary Schools

Bret Harte Elementary School Merita Kaulave mkaulave@bacr.org
Bryant Elementary School Dianna Caracoza dianna@missiongraduates.org
Cesar Chavez Elementary School Saul Anaya saula@jamestownsf.org
Dr. Charles Drew Elementary School    
Dr. William Cobb Elementary School Jasmine Benton jbenton@ymcasf.org
El Dorado Elementary School Natalie Toland natalie@rocksf.org
Dr. George Washington Carver Elementary School Michael Plank mplank@kidsclub.org
John Muir Elementary School LaSaundra Owens lowens@ymcasf.org
Leonard Flynn Elementary School Melissa Alvarez melissaa@missiongraduates.org
Malcom X Academy Elementary School    
Sanchez Elementary School Charlotte Le Riviere charlotte@missiongraduates.org

K-8 Schools

Bessie Carmichael K-8 Alfredo Guardado aguardado@ymcasf.org
Buena Vista/Horace Mann K-8 Alberto Martinez albertom@jamestownsf.org
Paul Revere K-8 Sherry Congrave-Wilson scongrave-wilson@bacr.org

Middle Schools

AP Giannini Middle School Mandy McGowen amcgowen@snbc.org
Aptos Middle School Sunny Zhang sunnyz@cycsf.org
Everett Middle School Marco Durazo marco@missiongraduates.org
Francisco Middle School Lorraine Orlandi lorlandi@telhi.org
Herbert Hoover Middle School Reggie Valenzuela rvalenzuela@bacr.org
James Denman Middle School Patricia Barraza pbarraza@ymcasf.org
James Lick Middle School Anttwan Stanberry anttwans@jamestownsf.org
Marina Middle School Amelia Rudberg arudberg@ymcasf.net
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr Middle School Jibraan Lee jalee@ymcasf.net
Presidio Middle School Mia Tswago mia@richmondsf.org
Roosevelt Middle School Cass Terry cass@richmondsf.org
Visitacion Valley Middle School Ryan Campagna ryan@rocksf.org
Willie Brown Middle School Ed Cheveres echeveres@goodsamfrc.org