Top

What is a Beacon Center?

The essence of a Beacon is a collaborative, youth-centered program model that adopts the ideals of a community school framework.  The 27 Beacon sites across San Francisco work to support a shared vision but each site is custom tailored to its surrounding community. Program elements of a Beacon Community School include family partnership and engagement, behavioral health and wellness, school transitions and expanded learning.  Beacon sites strive to add an additional layer of support to strengthen a child’s ecosystem so they succeed as a lifelong learner.

Community School Framework

4 Community School Practices:
♦ Shared Leadership
♦ Strategic Data Collection and Analysis
♦ Intentional Coordination and Alignment
♦ Continuous Learning and Improvement

Community School Coordinating Structures:
♦ Site Leadership Team(s)
♦ Coordinating Point Person(s)
♦ Partnership Collaboration

For twenty five years, Beacon Centers have revitalized communities and empowered youth by transforming school sites into hubs that connect the community and expand learning beyond school hours and academics. Today, 27 Beacon Centers serve 13,000 San Francisco youth and their families. 

Beacon Centers create a more open, collaborative school culture. School faculty partner with Center directors to achieve better results for youth.

Through these strong partnerships, more resources are available and services are better coordinated to achieve positive outcomes for our youth, families and communities.


What does the San Francisco Beacon Initiative (SFBI) do?:

Our Mission

The mission of the San Francisco Beacon Initiative is to work at the site and system level to transform public schools into youth and family-centered places of learning. Grounded in the community schools model/framework, Beacon Centers are committed to a cohesive, comprehensive, and collaborative approach that create pathways to lifelong learning and transformative experiences for youth and the adults who support them through advocacy, leadership, networking and program support.

 

Program Areas:

♦ Strengthen the Network

♦ Leadership Development

♦ Ensure Fidelity to the Beacon Model

More About Us

The San Francisco Beacon Initiative Associate Board Presents:

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

SFBI’s newly formed Associate Board is hosting their first ever fundraiser to raise money for the Beacon Initiative. They are a dedicated and incredible group of young professionals, and are helping us support the Beacon Network as a whole. Please join us! Donate what you can, but most importantly have fun and try your hardest at trivia.

How to join: Form a team of 3-6 people with friends in advance or join by yourself and we’ll match you with a team.

When: Thursday, May 21st at 7:30 PM Pacific Time

Signup Link: Fill out this form! The Zoom link and more details will be shared once you sign up

To donate: To donate, please Venmo @xoxovvictoria and mention the San Francisco Beacon Initiative (or SFBI for short). This will allow us to use corporate matching to double your impact! If you do not use Venmo, feel free to donate directly here: SFBI’s Click and Pledge

Suggested Donation: We suggest you donate $5 per person, but no one will be turned away for lack of funds, and all are welcome to donate more. There will also be opportunities to donate during the night.


DONATE NOW


San Francisco Beacon Centers

The Beginning

1994

Inspiration Sparked

SFBI began in 1994 as city leaders examined community school models. Inspiration came from the New York Beacon Effort.

1996

Eight Beacon Centers

Throughout almost two decades, 8 Beacon Centers across the city formed and ran in  following neighborhoods:

  • Mission
  • North Beach-Chinatown
  • Outer Mission/Ingleside-Excelsior
  • Portola
  • Richmond
  • Sunset
  • Visitacion Valley
  • Western Addition

1996

The First Beacon Center

The first center opened in 1996. 

 

Partnership between a CBO and school to provide wraparound services to support the needs of the youth, families, and schools.

2015

The Ninth Beacon Center

After 20 years, a ninth Beacon Center was added. The newly built Willie Brown Middle School implemented the Beacon model.

2016

Strategic Planning

A two year strategic planning process to expand the Beacons across San Francisco was underway.

 

Beacon Funding and System Partners:

SF Department of Children, Youth and Families (DCYF) – a City department that funds out of school time programs, including providing all Beacon funding

 

San Francisco Unified School District – Partnered with DCYF to plan Beacon strategy and engage principals, all Beacons receive funding from SFUSD for their afterschool programs.

 

San Francisco Beacon Initiative – SFBI supports all Beacon Community Schools to have high quality programs, strong leaders, and a connected network to share best practices. 

2019

From 9 to 27 Beacon Centers

The Beacon Centers scaled up from 9 to 27 with funding increasing from $3M – $10.4M, and with an increase from 8 to 15 Beacon lead agencies.

 

DCYF RFP & RFQStrategy description, goals, and schools.


 


 

Beacon Director Contact List

GRADE LEVEL

BEACON COMMUNITY SCHOOL

BEACON DIRECTOR

BEACON DIRECTOR EMAIL

Elementary Schools

Bret Harte Elementary School Merita Kaulave mkaulave@bacr.org
Bryant Elementary School Dianna Caracoza dianna@missiongraduates.org
Cesar Chavez Elementary School Liliana Santos lilianas@jamestownsf.org
Dr. Charles Drew Elementary School Tiana Kaulave tkaulave@ymcasf.org
Dr. William Cobb Elementary School Jasmine Benton jbenton@ymcasf.org
El Dorado Elementary School Natalie Toland natalie@rocksf.org
Dr. George Washington Carver Elementary School Kevin Wilson KWilson@kidsclub.org
John Muir Elementary School LaSaundra Owens lowens@ymcasf.org
Leonard Flynn Elementary School Melissa Alvarez melissaa@missiongraduates.org
Malcom X Academy Elementary School Shanyanae Tucker stucker@urbanedacademy.org
Sanchez Elementary School Charlotte Le Riviere charlotte@missiongraduates.org

K-8 Schools

Bessie Carmichael K-8 Alfredo Guardado aguardado@ymcasf.org
Buena Vista/Horace Mann K-8 Alberto Martinez albertom@jamestownsf.org
Paul Revere K-8 Sherry Galdamez sgaldamez@bacr.org

Middle Schools

AP Giannini Middle School Mandy McGowen amcgowen@snbc.org
Aptos Middle School Stefanie Almendares stefaniea@cycsf.org
Everett Middle School Wilson Jimenez wilson@missiongraduates.org
Francisco Middle School Lorraine Orlandi lorlandi@telhi.org
Herbert Hoover Middle School Reggie Valenzuela rvalenzuela@bacr.org
James Denman Middle School Patricia Barraza pbarraza@ymcasf.org
James Lick Middle School Anttwan Stanberry anttwans@jamestownsf.org
Marina Middle School Amelia Rudberg arudberg@ymcasf.net
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr Middle School Jibraan Lee jalee@ymcasf.net
Presidio Middle School Mia Tswago mia@richmondsf.org
Roosevelt Middle School Cass Terry cass@richmondsf.org
Visitacion Valley Middle School Ryan Campagna ryan@rocksf.org
Willie Brown Middle School Ed Cheveres echeveres@goodsamfrc.org