Top

About Us

The San Francisco Beacon Initiative coordinates public and private partnerships and funding that enable schools, communities, and families to offer academic, social, and emotional support to their youth as they prepare for lives as successful adults.

San Francisco Beacon Initiative is one of the first models of communities and schools working in partnership. The community and its youth feel connected and supported as they take steps to shape their own bright future.

The mission of the San Francisco Beacon Initiative is to work at the site and system level to transform public schools into youth and family-centered places of learning. Grounded in the community schools model/framework,  Beacon Centers are committed to a cohesive, comprehensive, and collaborative approach that create pathways to lifelong learning and transformative experiences for youth and the adults who support them through advocacy, leadership, networking and program support.

More About Us


Please join the San Francisco Beacon Initiative and Beacon Bridge at our annual conference - Beacon Way Day!

This conference brings together line staff, program coordinators, and directors from the 27 Beacon Community Schools across San Francisco.

Our Beacon Way Day theme this year - Get Up, Stand Up calls each of us to stand up for our communities. The work we do is paramount in the lives of the youth and families we serve. This conference offers an opportunity to build skills we need to advocate for our communities and reignite our purpose.

Click HERE to register Beacon Staff!

Click HERE for more conference information!

Check out our San Francisco Community Schools Toolkit!

We are excited to share with you the San Francisco Community Schools Toolkit! This document is a product of a partnership between the San Francisco Beacon Initiative and San Francisco Unified School District. It is full of resources and tools to help any school community move closer to a comprehensive community school model.

Many of the resources you will find in the toolkit were adapted from those created over the last decade of Community Schools work in San Francisco. We have also borrowed from other Community School efforts across the nation. In particular, our San Francisco Community School standards were adapted from the recently created national standards from National Coalition for Community Schools.


 

Beacon Director Contact List

GRADE LEVEL

BEACON COMMUNITY SCHOOL

BEACON DIRECTOR

BEACON DIRECTOR EMAIL

Elementary Schools

Bret Harte Elementary School Merita Kaulave mkaulave@bacr.org
Bryant Elementary School Dianna Caracoza dianna@missiongraduates.org
Cesar Chavez Elementary School Liliana Santos lilianas@jamestownsf.org
Dr. Charles Drew Elementary School Tiana Kaulave tkaulave@ymcasf.org
Dr. William Cobb Elementary School Jasmine Benton jbenton@ymcasf.org
El Dorado Elementary School Natalie Toland natalie@rocksf.org
Dr. George Washington Carver Elementary School Kevin Wilson KWilson@kidsclub.org
John Muir Elementary School LaSaundra Owens lowens@ymcasf.org
Leonard Flynn Elementary School Melissa Alvarez melissaa@missiongraduates.org
Malcom X Academy Elementary School Shanyanae Tucker stucker@urbanedacademy.org
Sanchez Elementary School Charlotte Le Riviere charlotte@missiongraduates.org

K-8 Schools

Bessie Carmichael K-8 Alfredo Guardado aguardado@ymcasf.org
Buena Vista/Horace Mann K-8 Alberto Martinez albertom@jamestownsf.org
Paul Revere K-8 Sherry Galdamez sgaldamez@bacr.org

Middle Schools

AP Giannini Middle School Mandy McGowen amcgowen@snbc.org
Aptos Middle School Stefanie Almendares stefaniea@cycsf.org
Everett Middle School Wilson Jimenez wilson@missiongraduates.org
Francisco Middle School Lorraine Orlandi lorlandi@telhi.org
Herbert Hoover Middle School Reggie Valenzuela rvalenzuela@bacr.org
James Denman Middle School Patricia Barraza pbarraza@ymcasf.org
James Lick Middle School Anttwan Stanberry anttwans@jamestownsf.org
Marina Middle School Amelia Rudberg arudberg@ymcasf.net
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr Middle School Jibraan Lee jalee@ymcasf.net
Presidio Middle School Mia Tswago mia@richmondsf.org
Roosevelt Middle School Cass Terry cass@richmondsf.org
Visitacion Valley Middle School Ryan Campagna ryan@rocksf.org
Willie Brown Middle School Ed Cheveres echeveres@goodsamfrc.org