Top

About Us

The San Francisco Beacon Initiative coordinates public and private partnerships and funding that enable schools, communities, and families to offer academic, social, and emotional support to their youth as they prepare for lives as successful adults.

San Francisco Beacon Initiative is one of the first models of communities and schools working in partnership. The community and its youth feel connected and supported as they take steps to shape their own bright future.

More About Us


Check out our San Francisco Community Schools Toolkit!

We are excited to share with you the San Francisco Community Schools Toolkit! This document is a product of a partnership between the San Francisco Beacon Initiative and San Francisco Unified School District. It is full of resources and tools to help any school community move closer to a comprehensive community school model.

Many of the resources you will find in the toolkit were adapted from those created over the last decade of Community Schools work in San Francisco. We have also borrowed from other Community School efforts across the nation. In particular, our San Francisco Community School standards were adapted from the recently created national standards from National Coalition for Community Schools.

View the 2018-19 QAP & YPQA Calendar! Cross-walk calendar to show the alignment between QAP & YPQA deliverables.


Read our latest newsletter for updates: October 2018


Community School Coordinators Appreciation Week Starts NOW!

Read up on our blog and social media to learn more about our Beacon Directors and what others appreciate about them!


 

BEACON EXPANSION PROCESS

The Right Time to Plan:

In the spring of 2016, our key funders, San Francisco’s Department of Children Youth and Families (DCYF), and the San Francisco Unified School District (SFUSD) asked us to consider an expanded vision of the Beacon and its reach.

This call for growth and change was a result of evolving demographics in San Francisco and shifts in how youth and families are selecting schools. Our neighborhood-based approach no longer seemed like the best way to reach those who could most benefit from Beacons. Our funders also valued the successful community schools-based model the Beacon Centers brought to their partner schools and communities.

The Results of Our Work:

After dozens of focus groups, interviews, steering committee retreats, funder meetings, and rigorous data analysis, we have identified a model for expanding the Beacon’s reach and impact that has equity as a primary focus. The Beacons will focus on targeting investment in the highest need Elementary and K-8 Schools and expand to all Middle Schools in SFUSD, growing the model.

SFBI Program Model Circles of Influence

 

 

View and Read Program Model

 

◊ View Our Centers

 

 

 


 

Beacon Director Contact List

GRADE LEVEL

BEACON COMMUNITY SCHOOL

BEACON DIRECTOR

BEACON DIRECTOR EMAIL

Elementary Schools

Bret Harte Elementary School Merita Kaulave mkaulave@bacr.org
Bryant Elementary School Dianna Caracoza dianna@missiongraduates.org
Cesar Chavez Elementary School Saul Anaya saula@jamestownsf.org
Dr. Charles Drew Elementary School Katrina Zavalney kzavalney@ymcasf.org
Dr. William Cobb Elementary School Jasmine Benton jbenton@ymcasf.org
El Dorado Elementary School Louise Diamond louise@rocksf.org
Dr. George Washington Carver Elementary School Michael Plank mplank@kidsclub.org
John Muir Elementary School LaSaundra Owens lowens@ymcasf.org
Leonard Flynn Elementary School Melissa Alvarez melissaa@missiongraduates.org
Malcom X Academy Elementary School Izegbe Newt inewt@urbanedacademy.org
Sanchez Elementary School Charlotte Le Riviere charlotte@missiongraduates.org

K-8 Schools

Bessie Carmichael K-8 Alfredo Guardado aguardado@ymcasf.org
Buena Vista/Horace Mann K-8 Alberto Martinez albertom@jamestownsf.org
Paul Revere K-8 Sherry Congrave-Wilson scongrave-wilson@bacr.org

Middle Schools

AP Giannini Middle School Annie Ma ama@bacr.org
Aptos Middle School Sunny Zhang sunnyz@cycsf.org
Everett Middle School Marco Durazo marco@missiongraduates.org
Francisco Middle School Lorraine Orlandi lorlandi@telhi.org
Herbert Hoover Middle School Reggie Valenzuela rvalenzuela@bacr.org
James Denman Middle School
James Lick Middle School Anttwann Stanberry anttwans@jamestownsf.org
Marina Middle School Amelia Rudberg arudberg@ymcasf.net
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr Middle School Jibraan Lee jalee@ymcasf.net
Presidio Middle School Mia Tswago mia@rdnc.org
Roosevelt Middle School Cass Terry cass@rdnc.org
Visitacion Valley Middle School Ryan Campagna ryan@rocksf.org
Willie Brown Middle School Ed Cheveres echeveres@goodsamfrc.org