Top

WE ARE HIRING! Looking for an additional Program Manager.

Job description linked above. Please spread the word!


About Us

The San Francisco Beacon Initiative coordinates public and private partnerships and funding that enable schools, communities, and families to offer academic, social, and emotional support to their youth as they prepare for lives as successful adults.

San Francisco Beacon Initiative is one of the first models of communities and schools working in partnership. The community and its youth feel connected and supported as they take steps to shape their own bright future.

More About Us


Summer Program Information Available for:

Elementary Schools: Bryant, El DoradoFlynn, Sanchez

Middle Schools: AP Giannini, Everett, Presidio, Roosevelt

Check out our Informational One Pagers in the Tools section


Read our latest newsletter for updates: April 2019


Light the Future Conference Preview

The Beacon National Network Conference, Light the Future was a major success! There was plenty of networking, performances, presentations, workshops and much more for San Francisco, San Pablo, Minneapolis, and New York Beacon leaders and youth to enjoy and learn from.

Thank you to the following for making this event successful: The Women’s Building, Beacon Bridge, Beacon Leadership Team, Beacon National Network, Jamestown-Bloco, Bryant Beacon Dance Team, Sunset Neighborhood Beacon Center Youth DJs, all workshop presenters and panelists. Our caterers: Creative Catering, Holy Craft Brewery, Inay Filipino Kitchen, Mandarin House SF, Noah’s Bagels, Soul Delight, Truly Mediterranean.

Check out our San Francisco Community Schools Toolkit!

We are excited to share with you the San Francisco Community Schools Toolkit! This document is a product of a partnership between the San Francisco Beacon Initiative and San Francisco Unified School District. It is full of resources and tools to help any school community move closer to a comprehensive community school model.

Many of the resources you will find in the toolkit were adapted from those created over the last decade of Community Schools work in San Francisco. We have also borrowed from other Community School efforts across the nation. In particular, our San Francisco Community School standards were adapted from the recently created national standards from National Coalition for Community Schools.


 

Beacon Director Contact List

GRADE LEVEL

BEACON COMMUNITY SCHOOL

BEACON DIRECTOR

BEACON DIRECTOR EMAIL

Elementary Schools

Bret Harte Elementary School Merita Kaulave mkaulave@bacr.org
Bryant Elementary School Dianna Caracoza dianna@missiongraduates.org
Cesar Chavez Elementary School Saul Anaya saula@jamestownsf.org
Dr. Charles Drew Elementary School Tiana Kaulave tkaulave@ymcasf.org
Dr. William Cobb Elementary School Jasmine Benton jbenton@ymcasf.org
El Dorado Elementary School Natalie Toland natalie@rocksf.org
Dr. George Washington Carver Elementary School Michael Plank mplank@kidsclub.org
John Muir Elementary School LaSaundra Owens lowens@ymcasf.org
Leonard Flynn Elementary School Melissa Alvarez melissaa@missiongraduates.org
Malcom X Academy Elementary School
Sanchez Elementary School Charlotte Le Riviere charlotte@missiongraduates.org

K-8 Schools

Bessie Carmichael K-8 Alfredo Guardado aguardado@ymcasf.org
Buena Vista/Horace Mann K-8 Alberto Martinez albertom@jamestownsf.org
Paul Revere K-8 Sherry Galdamez sgaldamez@bacr.org

Middle Schools

AP Giannini Middle School Mandy McGowen amcgowen@snbc.org
Aptos Middle School Sunny Zhang sunnyz@cycsf.org
Everett Middle School Marco Durazo marco@missiongraduates.org
Francisco Middle School Lorraine Orlandi lorlandi@telhi.org
Herbert Hoover Middle School Reggie Valenzuela rvalenzuela@bacr.org
James Denman Middle School Patricia Barraza pbarraza@ymcasf.org
James Lick Middle School Anttwan Stanberry anttwans@jamestownsf.org
Marina Middle School Amelia Rudberg arudberg@ymcasf.net
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr Middle School Jibraan Lee jalee@ymcasf.net
Presidio Middle School Mia Tswago mia@richmondsf.org
Roosevelt Middle School Cass Terry cass@richmondsf.org
Visitacion Valley Middle School Ryan Campagna ryan@rocksf.org
Willie Brown Middle School Ed Cheveres echeveres@goodsamfrc.org