Top

About Us

The San Francisco Beacon Initiative coordinates public and private partnerships and funding that enable schools, communities, and families to offer academic, social, and emotional support to their youth as they prepare for lives as successful adults.

San Francisco Beacon Initiative is one of the first models of communities and schools working in partnership. The community and its youth feel connected and supported as they take steps to shape their own bright future.

More About Us


Please welcome the newest member of the SFBI team, Jasmine Douville!

Jasmine Douville has been working in community engagement and education for 14 plus years teaching dance, running after school programs, and making sure youth know the importance of a quality education.  Before joining the SFBI team she was with Boys & Girls Clubs of San Francisco for five plus years as a Clubhouse Director. Born and raised in California, she likes to spend her time swimming, dancing and running after her two little boys Sage and Akai with her husband. She is passionate about yummy food, great music and Bay Area sports teams!

Want to learn more about Beacons? Join us during our Beacon 101 Info Sessions!


Beacon Community School Job Opportunities: CLICK HERE


The San Francisco Community Schools Toolkit has been UPDATED!

Check it out here: SF Community Schools Toolkit


Check out our Informational One Pagers in the Tools section


Read up on our latest newsletters

Check out our San Francisco Community Schools Toolkit!

We are excited to share with you the San Francisco Community Schools Toolkit! This document is a product of a partnership between the San Francisco Beacon Initiative and San Francisco Unified School District. It is full of resources and tools to help any school community move closer to a comprehensive community school model.

Many of the resources you will find in the toolkit were adapted from those created over the last decade of Community Schools work in San Francisco. We have also borrowed from other Community School efforts across the nation. In particular, our San Francisco Community School standards were adapted from the recently created national standards from National Coalition for Community Schools.


 

Beacon Director Contact List

GRADE LEVEL

BEACON COMMUNITY SCHOOL

BEACON DIRECTOR

BEACON DIRECTOR EMAIL

Elementary Schools

Bret Harte Elementary School Merita Kaulave mkaulave@bacr.org
Bryant Elementary School Dianna Caracoza dianna@missiongraduates.org
Cesar Chavez Elementary School Saul Anaya saula@jamestownsf.org
Dr. Charles Drew Elementary School Tiana Kaulave tkaulave@ymcasf.org
Dr. William Cobb Elementary School Jasmine Benton jbenton@ymcasf.org
El Dorado Elementary School Natalie Toland natalie@rocksf.org
Dr. George Washington Carver Elementary School Kevin Wilson KWilson@kidsclub.org
John Muir Elementary School LaSaundra Owens lowens@ymcasf.org
Leonard Flynn Elementary School Melissa Alvarez melissaa@missiongraduates.org
Malcom X Academy Elementary School
Sanchez Elementary School Charlotte Le Riviere charlotte@missiongraduates.org

K-8 Schools

Bessie Carmichael K-8 Alfredo Guardado aguardado@ymcasf.org
Buena Vista/Horace Mann K-8 Alberto Martinez albertom@jamestownsf.org
Paul Revere K-8 Sherry Galdamez sgaldamez@bacr.org

Middle Schools

AP Giannini Middle School Mandy McGowen amcgowen@snbc.org
Aptos Middle School Sunny Zhang sunnyz@cycsf.org
Everett Middle School Marco Durazo marco@missiongraduates.org
Francisco Middle School Lorraine Orlandi lorlandi@telhi.org
Herbert Hoover Middle School Reggie Valenzuela rvalenzuela@bacr.org
James Denman Middle School Patricia Barraza pbarraza@ymcasf.org
James Lick Middle School Anttwan Stanberry anttwans@jamestownsf.org
Marina Middle School Amelia Rudberg arudberg@ymcasf.net
Dr. Martin Luther King Jr Middle School Jibraan Lee jalee@ymcasf.net
Presidio Middle School Mia Tswago mia@richmondsf.org
Roosevelt Middle School Cass Terry cass@richmondsf.org
Visitacion Valley Middle School Ryan Campagna ryan@rocksf.org
Willie Brown Middle School Ed Cheveres echeveres@goodsamfrc.org